Italian Trademark Museum
 
 
 

The Bulgari logo

 
Sotirio Bulgari
Bulgari Il primo negozio di Roma
Marchio Bulgari
Bulgari Esterno negozio
Bulgari Esterno negozio
Marchio Bulgari
Bulgari Borsa
Marchio Bulgari
Bulgari vetrina negozio Roma
Bulgari ingresso negozio Roma
Bulgari - Pagina pubblicitaria
Bulgari Francobollo
Bulgari - Pagina pubblicitaria

The history of Bulgari's logo

The history of the Bulgari brand begins in the ‘90s when the founder, the Greek silversmith Sotiris Boulgaris (later Italianized to Sotirio Bulgari) flees his home country (specifically the Epirus region) because of the continuous clashes between the Turkish and the Greek army, to try his luck in Italy. He stops immediately in Naples (1881), and then works hard to set up shop in Rome (1884), in Sistina street. In the following years he expands his network, opening up shops all over the greatest Italian touristic cities, such as Sanremo, Bellagio, Naples, Sorrento and Saint-Moritz. In 1905 he opens the shop destined to become his headquarter, in dei Condotti street; the original signboard bore the inscription “Old Curiosity Shop”, with the intention of catching the eye of the rich British tourists (the inscription was a reference to the title of one of Charles Dickens novels) strolling through the streets of Rome. During the first years, his focus was exclusively the production of silverware, but the success and fame pushed Sotirio Bulgari to include all kinds of jewels in his product range; this gave the company a unique style, as did the use of Greek elements rather than French in the decoration of his products (French elements were the most popular at the time). The first logotype to appear made his debut in the early ‘20s, and consisted of the initial of his first name, followed by his last name, characterized by a lapidary font. Towards the late ‘20s the logotype underwent some small yet noticeable changes: the initials were capitalized, as opposed to the rest of the letters and the font acquired some sort of grace and was giving out an impression of movement. In order to celebrate his origins, Bulgari kept the original “V” which appeared in his family name, which was also engraved on top of his Roman shop during the renovation works which took place in 1934 (to give a fresh start to the shop after the first 50 years of activity).The well refined and exquisite silverwares manufactured by Sotiris became instantly famous among the local and the foreign (especially American and British) wealthy customers. In the ‘30s his sons, Constantino and Giorgio, decided to join their father in the family business: the first one, strongly interested in studying and collecting silverwares, began searching for, buying and collecting ancient pieces, carved gems, icons and, more broadly, art antiquities; the second son, on the other hand, was more of a creative genius, and interested himself in the art of carving the gems, and designing and manufacturing the exquisite silverwares. In the ‘50s and ‘60s Bulgari became synonym of luxury and class, and all the rich tourists that passed through Rome, all the most important movie stars and all the royal families of the world made it a necessity to own a Bulgari product. Throughout the years Bulgari became more and more famous, deciding to differentiate their production to many different areas.